November 18, 2013

  • Crappy 2 weeks

    Dammit... not so much fun at the moment.

    I've been having massages on my back and shoulders because of ongoing back pain issues. At my masseuse's insistence, I booked a consult with my GP to check it out and it turns out that I cracked a couple of ribs while falling down a set of stairs at home a couple of months ago. Apparently all the muscular tension and pain is a result of the muscles tightening up to take pressure off the rib-cage. In the meantime my rotator cuff and glutes are giving me much heck, as are a lot of the muscles in the middle of the back, and I have to keep reminding myself not to sleep on my right side, as I wake up with a lot of pain when I do.

    My partner AW was in hospital from last Friday week to Wednesday last week with gall bladder issues. She was admitted on the Friday morning with continuous pain, which even after some serious opiates was at 8-8.5 on the pain scale. By the time they took the gall bladder out on Sunday night, it had turned gangrenous. She's been recovering ever since, and it looks like it will take a while before she's able to get back to work.

    And now today, I've found out that the job that I'm currently doing on a contract basis is being wound up. I'm transferring my ongoing workload to a peer who I've had practically nothing to do with so far, and I need to start doing some serious job-hunting in the meantime. If anyone knows of any vacancies for a guru-level SQL Server professional either in Adelaide, South Australia or has some work they can farm off to someone who can out-work from a fixed IP in that city, please let me know. Data processing, reports, data integration, ETL, cube design, data warehouse design, data quality management, data modelling, database design and even C#/WCF Web Services are all well-inside my capabilities, so any opportunities you can think of will be gratefully reviewed.

    Anyway - interesting times.